top of page

I will post on my blog regularly throughout the 2019 season. You can find posts about races in previous seasons on my Instagram account.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJamieson Blain

Winter Blog post

Holdsworth-Zappi team Launch:


The team launch this year was in Edale in the Peak District. First, on Friday night the whole team launch took place with under 23 and junior riders. The new main sponsor Holdsworth was introduced and explained how they are working with the team. We also got our first look at our new Holdsworth bikes. Our other sponsors were also introduced, notability the Fred Whitton challenge which the junior team is riding in May. The junior team stayed the night and the next day went on a hike, which ended up getting quite competitive and was great for the team bonding. We then had a junior team meeting where we were informed about how the team will run this year. I got to have my first look at the race calendar for 2019 which I’m really pleased with. I came away from the team launch looking forward to the race season.  I believe the team will be perfect for my final year junior, and I got to meet some new riders joining the team for this year who, I’m sure will be great team mates.



Training over the winter:


First I had a few weeks off after the season to fully recover. Over the winter I haven’t raced any cyclo cross but instead focused fully on training for the next road season. Over the weekends I’ve done longer 3-4 hour group rides and reliability's to get ready for racing. In the week I’ve had interval training sessions and gym sessions with the support of David Lloyd Bromsgrove, to build up strength the gym facilities available there have been a great help. I’ve had plenty of recovery days as well as it definitely wouldn’t be good to burn out before the season. I haven’t had any injuries or been ill apart from a mild cold so my winter training has gone well without anything holding back my training. Over Christmas and New Years my family and I went skiing I had to change my training slightly but taking my turbo all the way to the alps worked well.


Cyclefit in London:


Late January I went for a bike fit in London from one of the teams' sponsors Cyclefit, after finding the fit they gave me last year very helpful. First Julian from Cyclefit made me some new custom insoles for my shoes as I need new ones from last year. And then adjusted my position new Holdsworth road bike and TT bike.



Coming up:


I have a 2 weeks training block in Spain including the Zappi junior training camp, in final training preparation for the season. Almost as soon as I’m back my season starts with a few big UCI races in Belgium during March.

170 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page