top of page

I will post on my blog regularly throughout the 2019 season. You can find posts about races in previous seasons on my Instagram account.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJamieson Blain

August Race Update

Assen Junior Tour:


After racing Assen for the past few years from younger categories up to Junior and doing well in the past, I was keen to come back and see if I could do even better at a race I’ve always enjoyed with a great atmosphere.


The first stage stage was a really short 1.7km TT I finished in the top 3rd around where I expected as it didn’t really suit me.


The second stage was a 45km crit, I finished 12 out of 114 which I was responsibly happy with but it was annoying as I’d missed a break of 10 rides losing time to them on GC, I was happy with how my sprint had gone though 2nd across the line out of the main peloton.


Stage 3 was a 91km road stage with cobbles. It was a very windy day with echelons splitting up the race. I finished 16th and moved up on GC after riders who were ahead of me lost time being caught out by the echelons.


Stage 4 was a 13km TT I didn’t do as well as I wanted coming 20th but still moved up a few places on GC.


Stage 5 was a short 60km road race, towards the end the winning 6 rider break got away, I managed to get into a second break between what would be the wining break and the main peloton. I worked hard to get to the leading group of 6 however about 3 km from the end the peloton caught my group. I thought I wouldn’t be able to get a good result now as I’d put a lot into being in the break away but I went for the sprint anyway and to my surprise was first out of the peloton so I finished 7th on the stage.


The final stage was a short crit, it went down to a bunch sprint however I messed up my positioning so I came 16th in the sprint. I finished the tour 17th on GC . From the tour I was most happy about coming 7th on stage 6.



Aubel UCI 2.1:


Unfortunately I was ill for Aubel so I don’t have any results to write home about. However I didn’t feel as bad for the team time trial. I did my best and the team ended up coming 7th on the stage which was a pretty good result considering some of the strongest teams from across Europe were there and we hadn’t had time to train together for the TTT.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page