top of page

I will post on my blog regularly throughout the 2019 season. You can find posts about races in previous seasons on my Instagram account.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJamieson Blain

May Race Update:

This month I decided to start doing some mid week races in order to gain enough points to get into national champs and to retain a first cat race licence into 2020. I also find that they are also good fun in a relaxed environment and can help with training.


1st Stourport Summer Series Round 1:



2 riders got away from the bunch early on and I realised their break would probably work so I attacked the peloton and after a hard chase bridged across to the leaders. When I got to them I realised they were already pretty tired, so I attacked pretty soon after reaching them. One of the 2 stayed with me but the other couldn’t. We both tried to get away from each other a number of times but in the end it went down to a photo finished which I won with a lunge.


SSSCC Road Race league Round 2:


It was a though high paced race with lots of the strongest riders from the region. After several attempts to make a breakaway it finished with a bunch sprint. In the sprint I finished 5th overall and 1st Junior.


1st Stourport Summer Series Round 2:


With many of the same riders as the week before I was a marked rider which made it hard to get away. I felt strong but I knew the sprint didn’t suit me against some of the riders because of my restricted gearing. After probably too many attempts to get away, tiring myself out a lot, I got away with another rider. I recovered sharing the work out and then attacked again as I could see he was getting tired, luckily my attack worked and I took a solo win.


I also raced my local track league picking up more useful points towards my goal.


Cadence Junior National:



With my moral higher from the last few races and because I was feeling strong, my plan for the race was to get in a strong break away. Most of the race I sat in, conserving energy and waiting for a good opportunity. I went with a few moves which failed but finally about 3/4 of the way though the race I got into a decent break. There were 8 of us and included a lot of strong riders (perhaps why the peloton chased hard to catch us). We were away for some time but ultimately we were caught approaching the final lap. In hindsight I probably put too much work into the break but I thought it was going to work, I ended up just finishing in the middle of the main group.


Stourport Summer Series round 3:


After wining the last few rounds I was marked heavily, I tried to get away lots of times throughout the race but it ended up going to a bunch sprint, in which I finished 4th.


3 days of Axel UCI 2.1:


This race was very though and a lot harder than the other races I’ve done this month, the highest level of junior racing with multiple national teams. Nothing really to write home about from the first 2 days I tried to get in break always but just finished in the bunch unable to do well in the sprints. Out of the 3 days the final days stage suited me the most being a challenging stage with short steep climbs. The stage was 100km with 3 33km laps, I was feeling good and was near the front of a reduced group until coming up to the final lap I was caught up in a big crash on a cobbled section... I did my best to chase back on but during the chase I realised I had a slow puncture from the crash. After swapping to a new wheel I wasn’t going to get back, especially on such a hard course. I finished but without the result I know I’m capable of. Out of 180 starters 114 didn’t finish the race. The stage race ended with only 66 finishers, showing just how hard the tour was.



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page